CHRISTMAS IN A BOX.

Do you remember that special Christmas celebration you had with family when you were a child? Remember how you visited the amusement park and got amazing gifts from Santa Claus. I always loved the decorations around the streets, the cold, dry harmattan air, the lovely music and the beautifully decorated Christmas tree glittering by the corner of the sitting room. I always loved the love that came with the season and the gifts I always got. It was the perfect time to ask and be given.

Do you also remember the first Christmas gift? Yes!. I hardly forget my primary 5 Christmas school party, I was about 9 years old and I was the lead character in the drama titled “Away in a manger”. I played the role so well that I got many gifts from parents and teachers.present2_1785835b

My dad was so proud of me that he got me my first sport car. That was a special Christmas for me and I know how much it inspired me to always strive to succeed. Later that evening he called me and said, “Congratulation, you acted so well but I want you to be a Medical doctor and not an Actor” lol. I probably would have been the Tom Cruise of NollyWood.

We all had our amazing Christmas seasons while growing up and they came with special gifts and great memories, unfortunately there are several children who have grown up without such love. Many are never even aware of the season, they never have anything to call their own or have never been given a gift before. I have met these kids and together with amazing volunteers we have brought hope to their paths and filled their heart with joy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This December The SLUM 2 School Project has designed a special Christmas celebration called my “Christmas in a BoX” and we want to give you the privilege to celebrate the season with these amazing children. “In the last 8 months through the Slum 2 School Project and our amazing network of volunteers, supporters and partners, we have provided educational scholarships and support for 320 children living in slums and this time around we want to inspire not just these children but also extend the love of the season to other children living in slums Ajegunle, Dustbin Estate and Bariga.cropped-picture2.png

The goal of my Christmas in a BoX campaign is to bring simple, lovable items to less privileged children who may never have the chance to obtain them. Each beautifully decorated box will be filled with items like Lego toys, Sunshades, Gently used or new clothes, shoes, Academic toys, wristwatches, games, storybooks, crayons, candies, biscuits, cakes ETC. We plan to give out 500 boxes to 500 children and we need 500 volunteers who will donate a box or more and be part of the project team.DSC01777

Be a Part of this amazing experience and together we can inspire these kids to aspire for success.

Kindly Follow these little steps.

1. Look out for an empty carton, shoe box or any little box within your reach.

2. Put a minimum of 5 out of all the listed items and any other which will be appreciated by the child. These items could be already available in your house and you must not necessarily buy expensive gifts..

3. Wrap the box/carton with any beautiful wrapping sheet and seal it with nice ribbon.

4. Inform 5 of your friends and share the opportunity with others who want to show love to these children.

5. Plan to be at our Christmas in A Box party on the 14th (Ajegunle and Bariga) and the 15th (Grand Finale at Makoko).

For More information please send an SMS with Name, Email, Location and Occupation to +234 806 3477 974 AND Send E-mail to slumtoschool@gmail.com.

Twitter @Slum2SchoolDSC07648

